TOY REVIEW: Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4 (Hasbro)

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4I have a not-so-dark secret: I like My Little Pony. I liked My Little Pony when I was a kid and I like it now. The only difference between then and now is that now it’s quasi socially-acceptable for a guy to like My Little Pony, and male My Little Pony fans even get a cool nickname: “Bronys!” It’s all thanks to the wildly-popular new cartoon My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic that launched on the HUB last year. Tonight I’m reviewing one of the all-new Wave 4 My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic ponies who hasn’t hit most retail store-shelves yet: Snowcatcher! The Right:

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4She’s not pink! Snowcatcher is a nice pastel blue-green colored unicorn, slightly more green-hued than Rainbow Dash, and as you can tell, I’m quite pleased she’s not pink. I really dislike pink ponies in this line–not just because I’m a guy, but because they’re everywhere! Of the 18 ponies released in the Playful Ponies line, 8 of them are pink or pink-purple. It’s my belief that the toy line should accurately reflect the Friendship is Magic world, where only a small fraction of the ponies are pink. So I am thrilled up-and-down every time we get a new basic pony that’s not pink. That said, Snowcatcher’s hair is magneta, but I can live with that. The Magenta hair actually complements Snowcatcher’s skin color nicely, and gives her one of the more striking appearances in the Friendship is Magic line of ponies thus far.

Snowcatcher uses the standard unicorn mold that Hasbro created back in Wave 1 for Twilight Sparkle, and I actually prefer Snowcatcher’s color scheme all-around to Twilight Sparkle’s on this mold.

Snowcatcher’s cutie-mark (I’m talking about the tattoo on her butt, for non-MLP fans) is a snowflake made up of hearts. Awwww. It’s pretty cute, and much more creative than the plethora of dull cutie marks we’ve had like the cupcake on Cupcake in Wave 3.

The Wrong:

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4

She's more green-hued than Rainbow Dash.

Like all of the ponies in the main Playful Ponies line, Snowcatcher comes with an animal friend. Her sidekick is an all-new mold, a Persian cat. In general I really like the free pack-ins, but I’m less enthused with this one for a couple reasons. Primarily, I’m disappointed that they chose to make this cat pink. The majority of the animal friends we’ve gotten have been in at least somewhat realistic colors, and I like it that way. The magical thing in the My Little Pony world is the ponies themselves–not their animal friends. The pink color of the Persian cat also bothers me because I feel it’s a big missed opportunity. In the show, Rarity has a white Persian cat, named Opalescence. We haven’t received that animal yet in any set, and as the animal molds don’t tend to get rereleased in other colors, we may not get him now at all.

Snowcatcher Cardback My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4There’s one other thing that bothers me about Snowcatcher as well as every other pony in this whole wave. Hasbro making toys of ponies that don’t exist in the media is the way that it always has been and likely always will be. But there’s a big difference between then and now: every one of the ponies in the 80’s cartoon existed as a toy, whereas few of the ponies in Friendship is Magic have a toy counterpart and most of the toys are non-cartoon ponies. One has to wonder WHY Hasbro would be putting out waves of toys like this one that are comprised completely of made-up ponies when there are literally dozens upon dozens of ponies we see in the actual cartoon that haven’t been realized as toys.

As Snowcatcher doesn’t exist in the cartoon, the sum totality of what we know about her is what’s written in her bio on the back of the cardback: “Snowcatcher has a talent for catching snowflakes on her tongue–they tickle as they melt!” Yes, the one and only defining attribute of Snowcatcher’s personality is that she likes catching snowflakes. Not exactly inspiring, is it?

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4

Snowcatcher and Twilight Sparkle are like fraternal twins! Or clones with different pigments...

“Where Can I Buy It?!”

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4As of writing, Snowcatcher has not been sighted for sale yet in most retail stores, but she’ll retail for around $6 after tax in most stores like Wal-Mart, Target, and Toys R Us once she does.

I purchased my Snowcatcher from BigBadToyStore’s online store, which currently has Snowcatcher available for $6.99 in-stock and reay to ship. It’s about a dollar more than I’d pay in a store, but I won’t have to wait for her to his stores and I won’t need to waste time and gas looking for her. They also have the case of 12 including all the Wave 4 Ponies for $61.99, and tons of other My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic toys available.

Amazon also has Snowcatcher in-stock for $8.99 right now, but toys regularly go in and out of stock very quickly on Amazon.

Overall: Snowcatcher is pretty good for a toy-only pony. Her color scheme is striking and not replicated elsewhere in the Friendship is Magic toyline (yet), and she has a fun cutie mark. The Persian cat is “good enough” for a free pack-in, though I’d have much preferred a white one. However, her bio is really silly. It’s hard to put multi-dimensional characters like Twilight Sparkle and Applejack next to Snowcatcher, who has absolutely no personality beyond catching snow on her tongue. Hasbro needs to realize and realize fast that what is making the My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic toys a hit is the cartoon. People love that cartoon, and they want to collect all of their favorite ponies from it. There’s nothing wrong with having original ponies in the toyline, but it’s silly that more than 50% of the ponies released in the Friendship is Magic line aren’t even from the show at all. I bought Snowcatcher and some of the other Wave 3 and Wave 4 ponies because my cartoon-based ponies were lonely, but I almost have enough ponies now for the background of my display to satiate my need for non-canon ponies. Bring on Big Macintosh, Granny Smith, Silverspoon, Pipsqueak, and other canon ponies, Hasbro! I’ve got enough ponies now with personalities consisting solely of liking to eat snow.

GRADE: B-

Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4

Some like it cold...

This entry was posted in Collecting, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TOY REVIEW: Snowcatcher My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4 (Hasbro)

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: TOY REVIEW: Snowcatcher -- My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4 - My Little Pony Trading Post

  2. Pingback: TOY REVIEW: Honeybuzz My Little Pony Friendship is Magic Wave 4 (Hasbro) | Dabid's Blog

  3. “But there’s a big difference between then and now: every one of the ponies in the 80′s cartoon existed as a toy, whereas few of the ponies in Friendship is Magic have a toy counterpart and most of the toys are non-cartoon ponies.”

    I think this is because the g1 ponies were toys that got made into a cartoon and g4 is a cartoon that got made into toys. With g1, they had a named, organized catalog of ponies with established bios [or whatever paragraph was on the box, that could be used as a springboard] and they could just hand pick ponies to put in the cartoons. G4 has a core group of established company ponies with many side fan favored ponies. I know when I got my first g1, Blue Belle, the cartoon did not exist. Mom just got her for me, because it a was the new toy at the time. Then I really liked MLP, so I collected them. At some point a watched a bit of cartoon in the early 80’s, but I can’t remember being fan of the cartoons at all, I just liked the toys [who I created my own personalities for]. With g4, it was not until after watching all the current episodes online, I decided to add this group to the MLP collection, but I did see the g4 toys first [been keeping an eye on the MLP toy section for 30 years]: ‘oh, they changed them….again’.

Leave a Reply

