COMIC BOOK REVIEW: Green Arrow #2 (DC Comics — The New 52)

Green Arrow #2 Cover DC Comics New 52It’s Month 2 of DC Comics’ The New 52! It’s do-or-die  this month for the books I bashed last month, and time to see if the titles I loved last month are as good as I thought! I’ll be reviewing all 52 #2 issues released this month, and you can find all of the reviews on the Comic Book Reviews index page. This week we get 13 #2 issues, including Green Arrow #2! I killed Green Arrow #1 last month in my review of it, and I don’t have any remorse about that. I’ve reread it a couple times, and I feel pretty justified in my lambasting of that comic. I had very little optimism left to carry in to my reading of Green Arrow #2, and it turns out that’s for the best, as I only would’ve been further disappointed…

This review will contain spoilers.

Green Arrow #2 is an unfortunate third comic this week for which I’ll forgo breaking the review into sections because I can’t force myself to be even-handed and try to write positive things about this book solely for the sake of journalism.

The nicest thing I can say about this month’s issue of Green Arrow is that it is not as unspeakably horrible as last month’s issue. (No, it’s not worse, either.)

Random thoughts and unanswered questions about this issue as I flip through it again:

  • In the opening scene, Green Arrow is swinging around on a rope tied to the top of the Seattle Space Needle, fighting the evil twin villains, Lime & Light. Lime/Light can fly around without limitations and shoot energy blasts, yet somehow Ollie manages to outmaneuver them and take them out without breaking a sweat or taking any damage. Given the shape and dimensions of the Space Needle, how could it ever–ever–be physically possible for Ollie to have a rope attached at the top of the Space Needle and be swinging around well away from the Space Needle? Only through the magic of poorly-conceived comic books, I suppose.
  • Actual dialogue from the opening battle–
    Green Arrow: “Why can’t you just get drunk and expose yourself like all the other attention whores?”
    Lime/Light: “Bet you’d like to see that, you big perv. And who says I’m not drunk??”
  • More actual dialogue from the opening battle… which takes place at night. Ollie shoots a flash bomb arrow at Lime/Light, who is blinded and thus defeated–
    Green Arrow:“I’m not as vain as you clearly are. Or as stupid. Ever hear of sunglasses?”[Apparently you’re pretty stupid if you’re not wearing sunglasses at night. There goes my self-confidence.]
  • EXACTLY WHAT DOES THIS ROGUES GALLERY WANT? As near as I can tell, they have no goals or motivations of any kind, no individual personality characteristics, and no backstory. They seem to exist for the sole purpose of being evil and wanting to kill some non-powered archer vigilante who they’ve never met before. WHY?!
  • This Green Arrow Rogues Gallery is one of the biggest jokes in the history of Rogues Galleries. This entire band of super-powered killers and criminals nearly get their asses handed to them all at once trying to take out one powerless human.
  • What was the purpose of having that Werewolf Woman in the Rogues Gallery at all? She doesn’t attack, she doesn’t speak–she doesn’t even get a name! Werewolf Woman stands on a rooftop preparing to attack, Ollie shoots a flash bomb arrow into the air, and she’s blinded midway through the issue. She doesn’t do anything else. Which would mean she does nothing period, since she hadn’t done anything before that either.
  • Why would the Rogues Gallery lead some poor dumb kid to their hideout in Seattle and kill him on Youtube, then stay there so that Ollie can come and find them?! You know who should have been there when Ollie got there…? THE COPS!! There was a freaking MURDER posted on Youtube in that warehouse and the bloody carcass of the kid is still hanging in the warehouse! Why in the hell aren’t the police (or the Justice League) on their way over to pick up the corpse and bring this superpowered team of villains to justice?!
  • Why is Oliver Queen Green Arrow, anyway? In the old DC Universe, Ollie had strong political and social views that he felt morally obligated him to make a stand as Green Arrow. In the new DC Universe, Ollie just sorta… is… Green Arrow. He attacks villains… because they’re evil. And in his spare time, he plays basketball badly and laments the Seattle Supersonics moving to Oklahoma. If writer JT Krul has a grand scheme for Oliver’s character, he’s writing on an intellectual level so high above me that I can’t see it.
  • Why the hell does Ollie continue to have this EVIL BUSINESSMAN working for him who sits around all day overtly trying to undermine Ollie’s position within Ollie’s successful company? Which, by the way, is doing phenomenally according to the prior issue, leaving said evil businessman absolutely no ground to stand on whatsoever in his attempts to usurp Ollie. Is Ollie too stupid to realize that this guy is purest evil and will most assuredly cause him problems not only professionally, but eventually in his superhero guise as well?

I could go on and on like this, but I think I’ve made my point, and I hope I’ve dissuaded any other potential readers to stay away from this book like radioactive waste.

“Where Can I Buy It?!”

I mean, if you read this review and you still want to buy this comic, I guess I can’t stop you. The obvious place to buy new comic books is your local comic book store, but if you don’t have one or can’t get to it, I highly recommend giving Things from Another World (TFAW.com) a try! They stock a crazy huge number of comic books, and the prices on new releases and graphic novels are always 10-30% below cover price. I’ve been buying from TFAW for close to a decade now and never had a bad experience, so I have total confidence in their value and quality. Click here if you wanna take a look at buying comics from Things from Another World.

Overall: This Green Arrow series is some awful crap, and I imagine that DC Comics realized that early on, which is why writer JT Krul is already slated to be leaving the book. As a character I’ve always loved Green Arrow, but this guy JT Krul created who’s running around in this series just ain’t him. I could continue to buy this book solely for the sake of bashing it here on my blog each month, but that would be giving DC 3 bucks for utter trash, and quite frankly that goes against my morals. I’ll check this book out again when I hear a chorus of angels overhead indicating that JT Krul is off the book and Keith Giffen has taken over.

Will I be pre-ordering the next issue of Green Arrow? NO!

GRADE: F

This entry was posted in Comic Books, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to COMIC BOOK REVIEW: Green Arrow #2 (DC Comics — The New 52)

  1. Pingback: COMIC BOOK REVIEW: Hawk & Dove #2 (DC Comics — The New 52) | Dabid's Blog

  2. Pingback: COMIC BOOK REVIEWS: Weekly Round-Up for Comics Released Wednesday, October 19th (10/19/2011) | Dabid's Blog

Leave a Reply

