COMIC BOOK REVIEW: Men of War #2 (DC Comics — The New 52)

Men of War #2 Cover DC Comics The New 52It’s Month 2 of DC Comics’ The New 52! It’s do-or-die  this month for the books I bashed last month, and time to see if the titles I loved last month are as good as I thought! I’ll be reviewing all 52 #2 issues released this month, and you can find all of the reviews on the Comic Book Reviews index page. This week we get 13 #2 issues, including Men of War #2! Men of War #1 was a book that surprised me (and not in a good way) with its first issue, which had U.S. soldiers on a mission in the Middle East where they got attacked by an evil Superman who killed their leader. I still had some hope this could redeem itself with issue 2. All hope is now lost.

This review will contain spoilers.

The Ridiculous:

I’m going to cut straight to the chase here: Men of War #2 is ridiculous beyond belief and poorly-executed. I’ll spoil the whole issue for you here, because I don’t want you to buy it. Here’s what happens: The newly “promoted” Sgt. Rock leads his group to find an American senator who was taken hostage while trying to negotiate peace in a Middle Eastern country, only for the group to be sidetracked when they run into…CIRCE.

No, really.

Really.

Yes, the Greek goddess Circe of myth is hanging out in a war-laden Middle Eastern country, where she’s taken a U.S. senator hostage to let the government know that she’s pissed and wants the United States to stay the hell out of her country in the Middle East. Or something. Then she grabs Sgt. Rock and flies over 115,000 feet into the air, threatens Sgt. Rock to pass on a warning to his people, and then drops him from outer space back to Earth, causing Sgt. Rock to set on fire and burn up on re-entry. Only for Sgt. Rock to wake up on his helicopter on the way home and have this amazing dialogue with a comrade-in-arms: “We saw some weird stuff back there!”

If this sounds like one of the dumbest comics ever, then I’ve done my job summarizing it to you.

The book closes with some “intrigue” about a traitor in Sgt. Rock’s unit and a mediocre backup story about some Navy SEALS, but by that point Men of War #2 had totally lost me, and will not ever be getting me back.

“Where Can I Buy It?!”

I mean, if you read this review and you still want to buy this comic, I guess I can’t stop you. The obvious place to buy new comic books is your local comic book store, but if you don’t have one or can’t get to it, I highly recommend giving Things from Another World (TFAW.com) a try! They stock a crazy huge number of comic books, and the prices on new releases and graphic novels are always 10-30% below cover price. I’ve been buying from TFAW for close to a decade now and never had a bad experience, so I have total confidence in their value and quality. Click here if you wanna take a look at buying comics from Things from Another World.

Overall: While I praised O.M.A.C. #2 for being “dumb, pointless fun”, Men of War #2 is just dumb and pointless. I don’t know what niche DC thinks they’re filling with this book, but I’m pretty sure it doesn’t exist. “Blackhawks #1” wasn’t exactly a masterpiece, but I can at least accept the greatest special forces unit of civilians in the DCU going toe-to-toe with superhumans. Men of War’s concept of “Regular Soldiers Confronted by the Supernatural and Mythological Forces of the DC Universe” has just come off as tacky and ridiculous thus far, and I won’t be sticking around to see if it gets any better. With Men of War #1 being the second lowest-selling book of The New 52, it’s likely this will be among the first New 52 books to be canceled. And with a horrible concept like this book has, it won’t be a moment too soon.

Will I be pre-ordering any more issues of Men of War? NO!

GRADE: F

This entry was posted in Comic Books, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to COMIC BOOK REVIEW: Men of War #2 (DC Comics — The New 52)

  1. Pingback: Editorial: A Eulogy for the Cancelled New 52 DC Comics | Dabid's Blog

Leave a Reply

