Revolution! Dabid’s first smartphone! The Naruto-colored iPhone 4 and Dabid’s rival for Jen’s love!

My iPhone is Naruto-colored! YESSSSSSSS!!!

My iPhone is Naruto-colored! YESSSSSSSS!!!

After pining away for the unobtainable white iPhone 4 for many months, I had an epiphany a week or so ago: with the orange bumper added onto it, the common black iPhone 4 I’d been rejecting since early summer would become Naruto Shippuuden-colored. As pretty as the white iPhone was, it would never be able to reflect my way of the ninja. And at that moment, I knew that my iPhone-less days were numbered.

So on Saturday morning, Jen and I trekked down to the Albany Apple Store to purchase our new toys. (Well, more specifically, we trekked down to Albany to go to the die-cast Pixar Cars cars event at K-Mart to purchase my new toys, and then stopped at Toys R Us Express at Crossgates Mall and picked up some new Sonic the Hedgehog Chaotix action figures as more new toys for me beforehand. But that’s besides the point.)

My dream came true! My blog has an icon on my phone! AWESOME!!!

My dream came true! My blog has an icon on my phone! AWESOME!!!

I went ahead and paid the extra $100 for the 32GB iPhone. I’m told I won’t use that much space, but I’m confident that that’s crazy talk. I have 22GB of music on my computer right now from my recent music obsessive study, and another 50GB of anime episodes. I’m certain I’ll find something to fill the phone with.

We also went ahead and bought the most expensive small pieces of colored plastic in the world, the iPhone 4 bumpers (orange for me, green for Jen). At $29 each for pieces of plastic that probably cost Apple a nickel each, I should feel ripped off. But dammit, being able to have a Naruto-colored iPhone 4? Priceless.

As far as apps go, I’m not into stupid time-killer games. At least, I don’t think so. What this phone is meant to do for me is to allow me to achieve goals like updating my blog more frequently and easily, learning to navigate the NYC subway system on my own, and building my Twitter follower-base more effectively. So to me, this is money well-spent. Assuming I learn to use the phone correctly, which is a goal for me as well.

The wreckage! The sad part is, those two little colored piece of plastic cost me 20% as much as the phone did...

The wreckage! The sad part is, those two little colored piece of plastic cost me 20% as much as the phone did...

Contrary to popular belief, I’m not going to be one of those people who get an iPhone and become obsessed with it and pull it out non-stop and get absorbed into its insanity. I have way too much control and discipline for that. Jennifer, on the other hand, is already like a crack addict with her phone. I already caught her playing games on when she went to bed claiming to be tired and allegedly to take a “nap”. I’ve never been concerned about Jen cheating on me with another man, but this phone may prove to be my greatest adversary for her affections ever…

This entry was posted in Anime, Cool Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

