Divine Intervention?? Dabid and The Possible Ataris Concert…

When your band is named after a video game console, you must be good.

When your band is named after a video game console, you must be good.

Okay, so to follow up on an earlier blog: I’ve been using Pandora to look for tolerable music. Without much success. At all.

After strikeout after strikeout, on Monday it randomly generated a song by The Ataris for me. They’re a washed-up punk band (sometimes). I liked. So I downloaded the discography on Tuesday, and I liked (sometimes). On Wednesday, my brother said he was actually going to stay home in Albany this weekend, so I asked if he’d do something with me this weekend.

Of course, that leads to the obvious problem of me not having any hobbies, interests, or knowledge of what to do outside of my apartment. (Other than bowling. I love bowling. But I can’t always go bowling.)

After trying and failing to find anything interesting happening in Albany this weekend (because Albany sucks), I saw a posting today that The Ataris are touring and playing on Saturday in Albany at… uhhh… what I think may be a seedy bar. It’s literally almost across the street from the college I spent two-and-a-half years at getting my Master’s degree, but of course, I have no clue, as I’ve never been in a real bar.

They look cooler than me. Though that's not saying much...

They look cooler than me. Though that's not saying much...

Now typically, I wouldn’t be caught dead near a seedy bar. I’m not even sure what it is you’re supposed to do at a show like this at a place like this. But! I think that this is divine intervention acting in my life as there’s no way this series of events could possibly be any kind of coincidence. It’s not just unlikely–it’s impossible. That’s what I believe.

I haven’t been able to confirm anyone will go with me. And I haven’t been able to reach the venue to confirm the time and/or ticket prices. But I think this is definitely, definitely meant to be. I guess we’ll see on Saturday…

This entry was posted in Cool Stuff, Music Analysis, Worthwhile Things I Did Today and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

