LIFE GOAL COMPLETE! Succeed at drinking a cup of coffee, and the rest of life will follow…

It's just a generic cup. I didn't know how to fill this space...One of my life goals has been to finish a cup of coffee. I had a coffee drink once by accident when I was younger, and that turned me off for about a decade. Seriously. Lately I decided to try again, but with no more success.

My past attempts at finishing a cup of coffee have met with abysmal failure. Frappuccino, Toffee Mocha, and White Chocolate Mocha are all in the graveyard of disastrous attempts at finishing a coffee drink. I think my previous record was about a quarter-cup of the Toffee Mocha, and that was pushing myself as close to my ‘puke’ reflex as I’ve ever gotten in my life. This, to me, seemed unachievable.

But–BUT!!!

Today was going to be different. I had to get to work 20 minutes early to wait outside for maintenance, and I got there with 10 minutes extra to spare. I went over to Starbucks to get a hot chocolate, and while waiting in line I had a ferocious inner struggle about whether or not to go for a coffee drink. I didn’t want to waste the money and make myself sick, which seemed likely based on my past experiences. And then I had the realization that would change my life.

I realized that I was going about this totally the wrong way, just looking for a coffee that would disguise the taste and taste like something else. No, there’s something far more important and suited to my personal preferences: the rare and limited edition. And then I knew that I had to try the rarest and most seasonal of Starbucks beverages: the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

A BFD

Apparently the Pumpkin Spice Latte is a big effing deal...

So I was nervous, as I don’t usually order any kind of drink like this, but I managed to compose myself enough to order a Tall Pumpkin Spice Latte. The barista was very nice and took my money and such, as you might expect. A couple minutes later, and I had my first Pumpkin Spice Latte.

The Fated Beverage...

The Fated Beverage...

 I got it outside, had a sniff, and wasn’t totally repulsed. After a few careful sips, I didn’t feel any sort of gag reflex. And the pumpkin spice flavor, while not the greatest in the world, was good ENOUGH. I wasn’t positive that Latte counted as coffee, but after confirming that it did, I knew that I could do this. That this would be the day. So while standing out in the cold for 20 minutes, I finished 2/3 of a Latte with surprising ease. 

10:00 came and I had to open the store and put my Latte aside. I got sidetracked for about an hour with work and with about 1/3 cup left, the latte was ice-cold and, well, disgusting. But having gotten this far, I knew if I gave in I might never get to this point again. I wasn’t about to give up. So I choked down that last 1/3 cup (and dribbled it all over my clothes), and fulfilled a very important life goal.

This was a substantial life goal for me, as I considered it to be one of the hardest to achieve both physically and mentally. I really didn’t think that this was something within my capabilities. Being able to fulfill this is a major boost to my confidence.

If I can drink a cup of coffee, I can do anything.

Succeed at drinking coffee, and the rest of life will follow.

That’s what I hope…

This entry was posted in Cool Stuff, Worthwhile Things I Did Today and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

