Worthwhile (And Not Worthwhile) Things I Did Today 8/18/10: Taking IN the trash. Now garbage can be fun!

You know your life is rockin’ when the most worthwhile thing that happens to you in a day is…

Kinda looks like the way a Muppet opens its mouth, doesn't it?

It looks like he's getting ready to eat me. It's actually kinda scary...

2 Feet of Pure Joy, Happiness and Rainbows

Worthwhile! Got one of the holiest of my collecting holy grails today: the R4-P17 Trash Can! This  trash can stands about 2 feet tall and is limited to just 500 pieces in existence for the entire world! I’ve had the R2-D2 Trash Can since 2007, but I’ve been hunting this R4-P17 Trash Can for years. (Literally.) Most of these in existence were distributed in Europe, making this near-impossible to acquire in America at any price. R4-P17 is my absolute favorite Star Wars droid, so this Trash Can was a must-have. I would’ve won it on ebay at any cost (even my soul if it came to it), but I got him for a steal! Score one for Dabid. [Editorial Note: No trash will ever go inside this trash can. Ever.]

Star Wars Factoid: For those who don’t know, R4-P17 is Obi-Wan’s doomed astromech droid from the prequels. He gets his head ripped off during the space battle in the opening scene of Revenge of the Sith. The pain of losing his beloved astromech droid was so great that Obi-Wan represses the memory, which is why he tells Luke in “A New Hope” that he’s never owned a droid. That, or Obi-Wan is just a heartless bastard.

Worthwhile? Watched little brother tear through stars in Mario Galaxy 2 that I couldn’t get myself like there was no tomorrow. It was really kind’ve degrading. With a lot more work and effort, I’m still not sure I’d have had the skill to beat those levels. I’m really starting to think I might be over the hill as a gamer… Maybe I need to start taking up an old man sport like golf or chess or something…

This entry was posted in Collecting, Star Wars, Worthwhile Things I Did Today. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worthwhile (And Not Worthwhile) Things I Did Today 8/18/10: Taking IN the trash. Now garbage can be fun!

  1. MS says:

    where did you get it and where can I get one?

Leave a Reply

